July 25, 2023

Governor requests major disaster declaration for storm-impacted counties

Therese Apel

A tornado is trying to form over Highway 25 near Dogwood in Flowood.

Governor Tate Reeves has announced that he has requested a Major Disaster Declaration for 16 counties impacted by the severe storms, straight-line winds, and tornadoes that swept across the state from June 14 – June 19.

This includes a request for individual assistance for Jackson and Jasper Counties. Additionally, it includes a request for public assistance to assist local governments primarily with debris removal in Claiborne, Copiah, Covington, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, Lawrence, Leake, Neshoba, Newton, Rankin, Scott, Simpson, Smith, and Wayne Counties.

“The state of Mississippi has been working diligently with local and federal partners to assess the damage stemming from these storms,” said Reeves. “This disaster declaration request is the next step forward as we continue to help Mississippians restore, rebuild, and recover. We’ll be here for as long as it takes.”

According to the National Weather Service, Mississippi broke a 49-year-old record for the number of tornadoes in the month of June, when 19 struck the state. Eighteen of those tornadoes occurred between June 14 – 19. The previous record was in 1974 when seven tornadoes struck the state in June.

Share this Article


Related Articles