October 29, 2021

Conservation Officers receive recognition during October commission meeting

Mary Apel

Sixteen MDWFP Conservation Officers were honored by the Commission on Wildlife, Fisheries, and Parks for outstanding achievements, and actions performed above and beyond the call of duty.

The officers and their awards are:

Life Saving Awards
Master Sgt. Daniel Sinclair (revived a man struggling to breathe from a drug overdose)
Cpl. Dustin Vanderslice (aided a woman who had been shot after an altercation and performed CPR on a woman who was found lying unconscious on the side of a road)
Pvt. Jacob Williams (aided a brain trauma victim involved in an ATV accident)

Outstanding Achievement Awards
Maj. Jason Young
Lt. Ricky Barry and Lt. John McFerrin
Master Sgt. Larry Rowan
Sgt. Chris Bobo
Cpl. Tim Gholson, Cpl. Evan McFerrin, and Cpl. Austin Riggs
Pvt. Bradley Starling

Officer of the Year Awards
Cpl. Brian Tallent (North Region)
Sgt. Bud Loper (Central Region)
Cpl. Joey Herrington (South Region)
Sgt. Anthum Braswell (Waterfowl)

“I am extremely proud of the many selfless acts of service rendered by our conservation officers,” said MDWFP Executive Director Dr. Sam Polles. “Our officers are trained to handle any situation they encounter.”

For more information regarding hunting, fishing, and outdoor recreation in Mississippi, visit our website at www.mdwfp.com, or call us at 601-432-2400. Follow us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/mdwfp or on Twitter at www.twitter.com/MDWFPonline.


Share this Article


Related Articles